Throwback Thursday: North

North is celebrating its’ 20th anniversary this year and what better way to honor such a classic film than to have it featured on Creative Equal? Have people even seen this movie? I feel like they haven’t because I remember one time I was talking to a friend about it and they looked at me like I was telling them about some dream I had where nothing really makes sense. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the first time I watched North but for some reason I remember how much I liked it. Perhaps it was because of the all-star cast: The kid from The Lord of the Rings, the guy in the Sixth Sense, George Costanza and Elaine Benes, a couple guys who were on SNL, Reba, the mom in the Waterboy, the dad in 8 Simple Rules, a young, unknown ScarJo, etc**. The movie is about a kid who is up for adoption (a free agent if you will) and somehow travels the world within a number of months and by the end has to decide which family he wants to live with. There is some foul language in it by kids standards, and when I was younger, I really thought I was getting away with something by watching it. But probably not, my parents must’ve just thought the movie was awful and were never in the same room as me watching it. I really didn’t think it was that bad of a movie. Anyways, I don’t wanna recap the whole thing and give away the “surprise” ending; I was just thinking about it the other day and felt like writing about it. Go look for it on Netflix or OnDemand and give it a watch, you won’t, you might not regret it.

PS – 1994 was an unreal year for movies: The Lion King, Forrest Gump, The Shawshank Redemption, Dumb and Dumber, Pulp Fiction, D2, The Santa Clause, Angels in the Outfield, Clerks, Blank Check, Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and The Mask (good for Jim Carrey), Four Weddings and a Funeral, Speed, The Flintstones, The Little Rascals, Major League II…

**Elijah Wood, Bruce Willis, Jason Alexander, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jon Lovitz, Dan Aykroyd, Reba, Kathy Bates, John Ritter (RIP), Scarlett Johansson, Abe Vigoda (RIP, wait no), Alan Arkin, Faith Ford and Graham Greene

Leave a Reply

