Music Monday

On Monday’s here at Creative Equal, I’d like to blog about music (If you couldn’t tell from the title). I don’t have anything particular in mind, but I do have a few ideas. Whether it’s introducing you to new music, giving an oldie another listen, or even telling you what movie a song was in, I enjoy it all. But let me start by telling you a little about my musical culture.

My exposure to music is not unlike many people, as I was influenced early by what my parents and siblings listened to. Whether it was on vinyl or a homemade cassette tape, we had a huge array of music almost always playing in our kitchen or in the car; oldies, funk, pop, classic rock, jigs, reels and more. I was immersed in it all and it truly continued to what I listen to today. I like to think I have a wide taste in music, and to give an example of how wide I think it expands let me name some artists I have seen in concert. The first being my favorite band, The Dave Matthews Band having seen them live ten times I think. I have also seen U2Bruce SpringsteenColdplayWillie NelsonKenny Chesney and the Zac Brown Band. I would say though, that my favorite genre is hip-hop/rap. I have seen Jay-Z and Lupe Fiasco who are two of my favorites. But my all-time favorite is the late, great, Notorious B.I.G. I am also a huge fan of Irish music, from groups like the Wolfe Tones to the Saw Doctors and individuals like Christy Moore. I love Frank Sinatra and Etta James. My taste continues, as I am writing this while listening to The Best of Pete Fountain, a New Orleans clarinetist. I also can’t deny musical pieces like Beethoven’s ‘Moonlight Sonata’ or the swingin’ sounds of Glenn Miller or practically anything from Motown. I could (and probably will) write for days on who I like, why I like them and my favorite songs by each of them.

I personally have playlists on my IPod for specific emotions and feelings. I’m not afraid to say it; you will find a playlist entitled simply, Sad. Fortunately I do not have to go to that much. I have music that gets me riled up and music that gets me nervous. Music that enhances any negative, angry feelings I have. Music that makes me feel great, happy and excited. I think I’d be able to find a song in my library for any occasion. Music gets me going, but sometimes I need it to balance myself out. I have music that reminds me of my past and songs that make me look forward to the future. I encourage suggestions of songs or artists that you want to see featured and hope you enjoy Music Mondays on Creative Equal!

PS – be sure to click on the links to hear some of my favorite songs by each artist I mentioned.

Leave a Reply

